An Attorney Who Fights For The Underdog
Defending You And Your Future From DUI Consequences
After your DUI arrest, you may worry about the impact these allegations will have on your future. What will friends and family say? Will you lose your job? Will you be able to get another one if you cannot drive due to a license suspension? If you are in college, will you lose your scholarship or financial aid? The potential fines and jail time are serious enough, but I understand that your concerns reach well beyond that.
I am here to help when you need it most. I’m Jennie E. Clark Attorney at Law, and I will be your fierce advocate — tireless, dedicated and compassionate. I work closely with you, I get to know you on a first-name basis, and I give you the type of defense you deserve.
Potential DUI Penalties In South Carolina
After all, your defense has a lot riding on it. Below are some of the potential penalties you may face:
- A first offense with a blood alcohol content (BAC) under 0.10 is a misdemeanor, but it could still lead to 30 days behind bars, six months without your license and a $400 fine. If your BAC is between 0.10 and 0.16, the potential fine jumps to $500. If your BAC exceeds 0.16, the fine increases to $1,000, and you could go to jail for 90 days.
- A second offense with a BAC under 0.10 could lead to a $5,100 fine, a year behind bars and the loss of your license for a year. For a BAC between 0.10 and 0.16, the fine increases to $5,500 and the potential jail time goes up to two years. For a BAC in excess of 0.16, you could see three years behind bars and a $6,500 fine, in addition to the 12-month license suspension.
- A third offense with a BAC under 0.10 could lead to three years behind bars, a license suspension from two to four years and a fine of $6,300. For a BAC between 0.10 and 0.16, the fine could reach $7,500, jail time could reach four years and you could lose your license for two to four years. If your BAC is over 0.16, you could pay a fine of $10,000, get five years behind bars, and lose your license for two to four years.
- A fourth offense becomes a felony charge. You could lose your license permanently, regardless of BAC. Maximum jail terms sit at five years for a BAC under 0.10, six years if the BAC is between 0.10 and 0.16, and seven years if your BAC is over 0.16.
Along with all of these penalties, the court may order that you must use an ignition interlock device when you get out of jail and your license is returned to you.
What Are Your Options?
As you can see, the impact on your future could be drastic. I will help you understand all of your options, from the administrative hearing to defend your license from suspension, to the various legal challenges to your arrest, and to alternatives we can recommend to the court such as PTI, ADSAP, LRDAC or attendance at AA and NA meetings.
I work with both first-time and repeat offenders. I also represent clients charged with driving while impaired on drugs. When you need a lawyer to help defend your future, I will work closely with you to fight to protect your future.
Call Now For A Free Consultation
If you are facing charges, call now for a completely free consultation at my Columbia, South Carolina, law office. Just dial 803-563-6482 or contact me online. I consider each potential client a human being who is scared, who has questions and who deserves a phone call to discuss their case.
Jennie E. Clark
View Attorney Profile